top of page

Vampire's Key - Chapter Four

Vampire's Key




Chapter Four


This is it, Lilly thought, entering the narrow black-bricked passage. It felt noticeably colder than the main road and she walked carefully over the uneven cobblestones. She was thankful that the alleyway passed beneath the terrace buildings, providing a respite from the constant rain. She veered right at the end of the alley where it opened up into a semi-circle of shops. Lilly paused to scan the properties, ignoring a middle-aged man who stared at her from his window seat inside a tiny vegan cafe.


The Grimoire. The small crooked building seemed apt considering the contents it purported to sell. An over-extended upper floor squatted heavily over the large window, intimating that at any moment it might be squashed beneath its weight. To its left, an antique shop announced a 15% reduction in prices, while the comic shop to its right was dark and evidently closed.


Retrieving her phone from her bag, Lilly checked it for any messages from Carl. Nothing. She re-read his last text: 'Stay at home,’ he’d texted, 'I will be back when I can. Lock the doors. Don’t go out.’ That had been just after one in the morning. It was now coming up for half-past eleven. He’d be angry if he got home and she wasn’t there. She didn’t want to think about the consequences.


The rain eased off, softening to a light, yet persistent drizzle. A gentle caress from the otherwise sombre grey-white clouds that capped the sky. *I’m here now,* Lilly thought, wiping raindrops from her phone before returning it to her bag and heading towards the shop.


Its door opened to reveal a middle-aged man, round in the middle, yet tall and handsome. He held a shiny, black bag with The Grimoire’s logo in one hand and a rolled cigarette in the other. He paused, held the door for Lilly and nodded to her as she entered. “Thank you,” she said, as an off-key jingle announced her presence. He nodded again and closed the door behind them, then lit his cigarette and headed back towards the main road.


Bare boards creaked as Lilly took her first steps into the maze of over-filled bookshelves and locked cabinets. *This place looks chaotic,*she thought, *how on earth does the owner find anything?*


Taking a step to her left, she bumped into a stack of magazines that slid all-too-easily to the floor. *Damn,*she thought, checking no one was watching before she stooped to pick them up. A group of black robed figures were depicted alongside provocative titles such as ‘Satanism: Here to Stay’ on the first magazine. The second asked the question: ‘Is Your Neighbour a Chaos Magickian?’ along with a close up of a man staring madly, his face adorned with strange tattoos. Another magazine, entitled ‘Mysteries of the Werewolf’ boasted an interview with a man claiming to have been bitten by an English werewolf.


Lilly shook her head in disbelief and replaced the magazines. *Bitten by a werewolf.Is that possible,*she wondered? Last night she’d seen … *God what did I see?*Katie’s words found their way back into her mind, “Come with us.” *God,*Lilly thought, *was it real*?*Maybe it was concussion.*She closed her eyes tightly, crossed her arms and squeezed hard, trying to exorcise the multitude of thoughts and feelings that collided within. When she opened them, one thought dominated: *it’s real.What the hell is going on?*


Lilly continued through the shop. The next aisle repeated the chaotic layout. More magazines, some that looked as though they had been left untouched for years, were stacked along with papers on overfilled shelves. Lilly opted to keep to the other side of the aisle where the books looked less likely to collapse at any moment.


Ahead of her a young man back-tracked far enough to allow her to pass. Lilly thanked him, glad that she’d avoided the uncomfortable sensation of brushing bodies. He smiled and eyed her lasciviously, leaving Lilly with a feeling she preferred not to dwell on.


Glancing at the titles, she passed sections on Earth Mysteries, Ley Lines, Lost Civilisations, Stone Circles and Rude Stone Monuments. Another pile of books on the end of a tall shelf unit looked ready to topple. Lilly opted to take the left aisle, heading left again into a small alcove labelled ‘Dark Mysteries’. Magazines, journals and loose papers were, like everywhere else, scattered chaotically. She picked up the topmost magazine, leafing idly through the pages while looking around.


“After anything special?” a lady asked.


Lilly jumped, almost lost grip of the magazine, caught it and held it tightly. “Just looking, thank you,” she replied, glancing briefly at the woman. She was a young lady with fair skin and heart shaped lips. Blue-green dreadlocks, wrapped in pink cotton were clumped atop her shaven head. Multiple earrings and an eyebrow piercing added to her rebellious appearance.


“As you can see, we’ve got pretty much everything,” the woman announced, studying the Left Hand Path section. She leaned closer and whispered, “You look like there’s something on your mind.”


Lilly smiled awkwardly and flicked through the pages.


“You interested in sex magick?”


“Sex magick?”


“Dionysus; the magazine you picked up.”


Lilly’s face warmed. “Oh, I, er … I wasn’t…”


The woman grinned. “So if not sex magick, then what I can help you with today?”


Ignoring the knots in her stomach, Lilly offered a weak smile and replaced the magazine. “I wondered,” she began, forcing herself to stay put. Her voice dropped a little. She cleared her throat and asked, “Do you have anything on vampires?”


“Vampires? They’re so cool, aren’t they? We have loads on them. I’m a bit of a freak for them, actually. I’d love to be one, can you imagine? I always make sure my manager buys the latest books and magazines, and I’m always searching for the rare ones. You know, out of print, foreign press, sub-culture stuff. Some of them are so rare they’re probably in the Vatican archives. Anyway, this way.” She turned abruptly and wove a path through the shop with Lilly on tail. “I’m Sophie, by the way.”


“I like your boots,” Lilly commented, admiring Sophie’s Gothic footwear.


“Thanks, I got them from a friend. Thirty pounds. Eighty-five in the shop.” She stopped and wiggled her platform boots. “I can get you some if you like?” Sophie offered, leading Lilly through the shop. “They’re not heavy.”


“No, thanks, my boyfriend wouldn’t like them,” Lilly confessed. She put her hand over her mouth. “Oh, I’m sorry,” she added, still following Sophie. “I didn’t mean — I mean, I like them, just my boyfriend—”


Sophie frowned and tilted her head. “It’s okay. Anyway, here we are: vampires.” She stepped aside, motioning with her arm for Lilly to enter the section.


“Oh, wow!” Lilly exclaimed, staring at a large poster of a semi-naked woman wrapped in the arms of a caped vampire.


“I know,” Sophie griped. “My boss likes it. Personally, I think it’s tacky. Surprised no one’s complained, actually. Still, she’s pretty. Anyway, we have everything; from the novels of pretty much every author going, to journals from vampire groups to fantasy art — though they’re usually of the male vampire with scantily clad women sort. We should have some of naked men with vampire women, don’t you think? There are some lesbian ones too, if you’re into that.” She leaned closer and whispered again. “Guys tend to like them.”


Lilly shook her head, “No. I’m just, I don’t know much about them. I don’t watch horror films and, well, I just wondered...”


“Well, there are plenty of books I can recommend.”


“Do you have anything about female vampires?”


“Female vampires?” Sophie repeated. She grinned. “Do you want to be one as well?”


Lilly shrugged.


“Well, we have Carmilla...” Sophie pulled out a comic book depicting a large-breasted, scantily-clad vampire on the cover. “She’s into girls. She pretty much started the lesbian thing.”


“No, sorry,” Lilly corrected, scanning the shelves. “I mean real vampires.”


“Oh,” Sophie said, looking at Lilly. “Er, yeah...” Sophie scanned the shelves in the non-fiction section. “Now, where would be a good place for you to start?” She reached up and pulled down a thick book from the top shelf. “This,” she began, showing Lilly a book entitled 'The Vampire Glossary’, “is a really good introduction. It’s kind of like a dictionary really — well, encyclopaedia, that kind of thing. It’s rare. We’ve only just been authorised to sell it by the author.”


“Thank you,” Lilly replied, taking the book and flicking through the pages. “And it has female vampires?”


“Yeah,” Sophie confirmed, grazing Lilly’s shoulder with her fingers.


Lilly flinched and moved away. Her right shoulder tightened, pulling in to protect her body.


“Sorry,” Sophie said, shooting Lilly a quizzical look.


“I don’t like to be touched,” Lilly confessed.


Lilly’s fake smile failed to alleviate Sophie’s suspicions. The shop girl studied her.


Lilly’s unfocused gaze dropped to the floor and she tilted her head away, turning to face the book case.


“I’m sorry,” Sophie repeated. “I didn’t mean to startle you. You just look like you could do with loosening up. I can recommend a masseuse, if you like?”


Lilly gritted her teeth. Her hand grabbed at the material of her coat. She tightened her grip, crumpling the wool. “I’m fine thanks,” she mumbled. She swallowed and glanced towards the exit. She’d have to pass Sophie if she wanted to leave. She closed her eyes momentarily, trying to calm her feelings. Her mouth tightened and she bit her top lip. *Stay calm,*she told herself.


“He’s very good,” Sophie added.


Lilly offered a weak smile, but avoided Sophie’s gaze. “No thanks.”


Sophie watched Lilly for a moment longer, then said, “Fair enough.” She returned to the books. “There are so many to choose from,” she continued. “It depends what you want, really. Psychic vampires or psycho vampires.” Sophie grinned. Lilly didn’t turn around and Sophie continued, pulling books from the shelves as she narrated their topics. “We’ve got blood drinkers, sexual vampires, sado-masochists, religious vampires and — would you believe it? Even female-dominant vampires; not a bad thing, putting men in their place. Some of them really need it.”


Lilly nodded and glanced at Sophie. Her dark eyeliner pulled Lilly towards the deep serene green of her eyes. “You know,” Sophie said, reaching out to stroke Lilly’s hand. “If I can help...”


“I’m fine,” Lilly replied. She didn’t move her hand and Sophie clasped her for a moment before releasing. “I’m just interested in female vampire gangs. Are there such things?”


Sophie shot a look over her shoulder, took a step closer and whispered. “You want the Sisters of Annis.”


“The Sisters of—?”


“Sophie,” a man said, appearing from the catacombs of books.


Lilly tensed at his appearance. He was a small man, probably in his forties, and a little shorter than her, but thickset and muscular. She turned to lose herself in the books once more, idly scanning titles as she listened in on the conversation between Sophie and the man.


“Can I have a word?” he asked.


“I’m with a customer, Mike.”


“Just a minute.”


“Sorry,” Sophie said to Lilly. “I’ll be right back.”


Lilly’s polite smile quickly faded as the man grabbed Sophie’s arm.


Sophie nudged him away, walking indignantly in front of the short guy.


“What the hell are you doing?” Mike whispered.


“What?” Sophie replied in an equally hushed voice.


Intrigued and concerned, Lilly moved to the end of the aisle. She paused as she reached another corner of precariously balanced books. A title, black against a shocking pink background, jumped out at her: ‘Sisters of Kachinas. The Mayan Connection’.


“I’ve told you before,” Mike warned. “Don’t talk about that place. You’ll get us into trouble. They’ve already put the rent up this year. If I have to pay them any more, I’ll have to let you go.”


“I haven’t even mentioned it,” Sophie protested.


“I thought I heard you talk about the Sisters, for god’s sake. Look, either sell her something, or get her out of here.”


“She’s a customer, Mike. Besides, she needs help.”


“For god’s sake Sophie, this isn’t a bloody charity! What if she disappears? Have you thought about that? I have enough to deal with without a missing girl on my hands.”


“She just wants to buy some books. Okay? Just—” Exasperated, Sophie sighed loudly. “I haven’t told her about the other ones. Just let me deal with her. Haven’t you got ordering to do or something?”


“Oi, I’m your boss. You don’t tell me what to do, okay? Now go and deal with the customer. Sell her something and get rid of her. And don’t mention The Countess.”


“I’ve not said anything!” Sophie exclaimed, heading back to Lilly.


Lilly dipped back into the vampire section, knocking over the books on the corner. *Damn*, she thought, kneeling down and quickly picking them up. Titles leapt out at her like creatures in the night. ‘The Dominant Vampire’, ‘Blood and Soul’, ‘Vampirism and Chakra Work’, ‘Blood Work’, ‘Vampires Through the Ages’, ‘Through Death to Life’. Pulling a loose pamphlet of papers from the end of the shelf, Lilly flipped through the pages. She frowned at the meaningless text written in a strange script and the weird imagery that adorned the thick parchment. She placed it atop the pile and picked them all up.


“Sorry about that,” Sophie said, reappearing as Lilly did her best to steady the oversized pile of books.


“Do you believe in them?” Lilly asked.


“What, vampires?”


Lilly nodded. Sophie moved closer, glancing over her shoulder, then whispered. “Yes.”


Lilly stared at her for a moment, studying the attractive punk’s smooth faceand strong cheeks. “I think I met some,” she finally declared.


“What? Vampires?”


“Yes. Well, I don’t know for sure, but I think I did.”


“Where?”


“In a car park. Near Covent Garden. Last night.”


“What’s your name?” Sophie asked.


“Lilly.”


“Nice to meet you, Lilly,” Sophie replied and went to hug her. Lilly stepped back and Sophie moved closer. “I’m hugging you whether you like it or not.” Clasping her arms around her, she gave the nervous girl a tight hug. “I will help you, however I can.”


“Thank you,” Lilly said, responding with a weak hug. Taking advantage of their close proximity she whispered into Sophie’s ear, “They said my boyfriend’s a Stake.”


“A Stake? What’s that?” Sophie asked, withdrawing a little too quickly.


“I hoped you’d know.”


Momentarily avoiding Lilly’s gaze, Sophie shrugged. Finally, she smiled and asked, “What happened?”


“I’m not sure. They attacked my boyfriend and another man. And then asked me to go with them.”


“They’re usually so careful,” Sophie whispered. “You must be something special.”


“I’m not.”


Sophie stared into Lilly’s eyes and said, “Don’t say that. Don’t ever say that.”


“My boyfriend wouldn’t agree with you.”


“There’s more people in the world than your boyfriend,” Sophie countered.


“He was injured last night,” Lilly exclaimed, wiping her eyes. “I’ve not heard from himsince. If he’s home now, I’m going to get into trouble.”


“Look,” Sophie whispered, aware that Mike was most likely still listening. “I’ll help you. If you want me to.”


Lilly shook her head, pulled a tissue from her bag and wiped her eyes. “No, thanks. I’m sorry. I just wanted to find out if this was real.”


“I’ll get you some books. You can choose what you want,” Sophie said. “And,” she lowered her head, looking into Lilly’s eyes once more, “if you want my help, I will help you. Okay? I’ve been there. Too many women have.” Sophie’s voice dropped to a whisper again. “Look, I shouldn’t talk about this, but there is a place.” She glanced over her shoulder. “It’s private, a bit off the wall, very exclusive — and women are safe there.”


“What kind of place?” Lilly asked.


“A place that may provide some answers. I can‘t guarantee anything, but I’ll see what I can do,” Sophie said. “Give me your number.”


“Thank you.”


Sophie smiled again. “Your boyfriend sounds like a complete dick. You don’t have to stay with someone like that, you know? You deserve better.” She squeezed her hand.


“Please, don’t,” Lilly pleaded, shying away. “He’s not bad. He just has bad days like everyone else.”


“You don’t have to make excuses for him.”


“I’m not,” Lilly protested weakly. “Can I get those books?”


“Yeah, sure,” Sophie said, turning back to the shelves and quickly selecting a few. “These might help enlighten you.” She handed Lilly a thick book. The cover was gravestone grey and embossed with a beautiful script.


“’Annis’,” Lilly read. “’A Vampire Glossary’.”


“Try this one too,” Sophie added, passing a thinner book with a cloth dust jacket. “‘Legends From the Shadows’. It’s packed with myths and stories. Well worth it. I can let you have them both at a discount.”


“Thank you,” Lilly said, opening the cover to reveal an image of a shapely figure lurking at the mouth of a cave.


“Oh, give me your number,” Sophie prompted, pulling her phone from her back pocket. Lilly relayed the number as she followed Sophie back to the till.


“Got what you wanted?” Mike asked, his eyes running over Lilly’s body.


“Thank you,” Lilly mumbled, feeling repulsed by his invasive scrutiny.


“I can do it,” Mike said to Sophie, who placed the two books on the counter.


“It’s fine, I’ve got it,” Sophie countered, nudging him out of the way. “I thought you were doing your orders.”


“Just taking a break,” he replied.


Lilly felt his eyes running over her again. She crossed her arms, keeping her gaze on Sophie.


“Mike, give us some space please,” Sophie snapped. She stopped processing the books, turned and looked at him.


Mike’s gaze swept from Lilly to Sophie and back to Lilly. “Fine,” he grunted when he realised the two women wanted him gone. He disappeared into a back room.


“Sorry,” Sophie shrugged, processing the second book. “That’s thirty pounds, but with a discount you can have them both for twenty.”


“Thank you,” Lilly replied, handing over a note.


“I hope you hear about your boyfriend,” Sophie added, passing Lilly a black bag inscribed with The Grimoire in silver text. “I’ll text you.”


“Thanks,” Lilly said.


“Let me know how you get on. We should meet up for a drink. The cafe next door does amazing lunches.”


“Thanks, that’ll be nice,” Lilly replied, and headed back out into overcast London.


Vampire’s Key


Vampire's Key is available on the following websites:



Recent Posts

See All

Slipping Forth From the Darkness

I keep returning to the fact that I am hiding from the reality of what I am writing, that, in some way, I have created an alter-ego that promotes what I write, that writes the dark erotica featuring t

JOIN THE MAILING LIST

Thanks for subscribing!

© 2023 P.G. DEVLIM
Site Designed by Fifth Estate Designs

bottom of page